top of page

Exploring the 7 Chakras Part Seven: Crown

The Crown Chakra

The Crown Chakra is also called Sahasrara, which translates to "thousand" or "thousand fold" in Sanskrit. It is located at the top of the head and radiates outward toward the aura. The Crown Chakra is represented by the colors violet or white to represent purity and light. It's symbol is a lotus flower with a thousand petals. The term one thousand symbolizes the lotus reaching full bloom and its highest potential, just as the opening of our Crown Chakra is our highest fulfillment and state of perfection. As we discussed in Part One, The Root Chakra, the serpent energy of the Kundalini resides in the base of the spine at the Root Chakra. Once we awaken the Kundalini, or our human potential, it rises upward through each Chakra until it reaches the universal consciousness of the Crown Chakra. The goal of our spiritual quest is to unite our individual self with our Divine Self. Through the Crown Chakra we will have achieved spiritual enlightenment and the highest state of consciousness. With this, comes a deep state of peace as we unite our divine self or highest self, with the sacred cosmos of the Universe. We go through a profound transformation into a state of bliss. We will feel an unshakable serenity, a deep peace and a connection to the universe. A perfect union has been achieved.


The Crown Chakra is symbolized as a thousand petal lotus . A thousand petals is a representation of the lotus reaching its full potential. It starts in the dark, muddy waters and continues to grow and rise upwards high above the murkiness and blossoms into perfection. The lotus is the perfect symbol for our own spiritual journey as we start awakening our Root Chakra and come out of the darkness into a state of enlightenment. The symbol to the right also includes the Sanskrit symbol, Om, the mantra of the Crown Chakra.


Qualities, Correspondences and Tools

Read through the reference guides below. The first section details qualities associated with the Crown Chakra, followed by information that corresponds with it. The last section lists different tools you can use as you work on opening your Crown Chakra to achieve spiritual enlightenment and awakening.

Crown Chakra Reference Guide

Crown Chakra Qualities

Central Theme: Spirituality, Enlightenment, Self-Realization

Position on the Body: Top of the Head

Bodily Function: Brain, the entire Organism

Mental Level: Self-Realization

Spiritual Level: Enlightenment

Developmental Stage: Completion of first cycle 43-49

Strengths: Spirituality, Connection to the Divine

Weaknesses: Superstition, Apathy, Illusion

Physical Disorders: Cancer, Immune System Disorders, Chronic Illness Mental Disorders: Depression, Confusion, Flight from Reality

Crown Chakra Correspondence

Color: Violet, White

Vowel: silence

Sensory Function: Cosmic Awareness

Phase of the Moon: New Moon

Planet: Neptune

Element: N/A

Ways to Cleanse/Align

Mantra: OM

Musical Instrument: Gong

Affirmation: I am aware in every moment

Essential Oil: Incense, Rosewood

Precious Stones: Diamond, Rock Crystal (Quartz), Amethyst

Herb: N/A

Spice: N/A

Bach Flowers: Wild Rose, Wild Chestnut

In addition to the above, there are many different healing crystals that align with the Crown Chakra. Each crystal listed below can assist you in your Crown Chakra work. They are each linked to a page in our Metaphysical Directory where you find the metaphysical properties along with different associations. Below these descriptions are products we offer with that crystal including jewelry, Crystal Grid Kits and other accessories. Wearing jewelry and working with crystals associated with the Crown Chakra are additional tools to help you on your journey towards your highest self and the enlightenment that follows!

This concludes our Exploring the 7 Chakras series.I hope you enjoyed reading these posts and learning more about each Chakra individually, as much as I enjoyed writing them. It was an honor to learn and grow with you these past several weeks. I began this journey with the intention of educating others on healing crystals and the Chakras. I sincerely believed this series was a small way I could help others by sharing information I researched and presenting it in a fashion that was clear, concise and quick to read. It never occurred to me that I would gain anything or how this series could impact me. I feel extremely grateful for the wisdom and insights I have gained, not just about the 7 Chakras, but the newfound awareness about myself and areas in each of my own Chakras that need nurturing. I firmly believe once we complete the hard work, in what seems like a daunting task, necessary to awaken our own Kundalini energy, the state of blissful serenity awarded to us will be worth it beyond words. I believe all of us were born with limitless potential! If we keep taking baby steps forward we will get there!

As always, if you have any questions or if something isn't clear feel free to post in the comment section below or email If you have any suggestions or if there are any subjects or topics you would like to see in future blog posts please let me know. I want to build a community of like minded souls that strive to learn and grown from and with one another so your input is essential! Until next time!



Soul Sisters Designs


Govinda, K. (2004). A handbook of chakra healing: spiritual practice for health, harmony, and inner peace. Old Saybrook, CT: Konecky & Konecky.


Mensajes recientes:

Aún no hay ninguna entrada publicada en este idioma
Una vez que se publiquen entradas, las verás aquí.

Buscar Por Etiquetas

No hay tags aún.


  • Facebook Reflection
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
bottom of page