top of page

Exploring the 7 Chakras Part One: Root

Exporing the 7 Chakras: Root (Muladhara) by Soul Sisters Designs

Why learn about the Chakras

Welcome to our new blog series titled, “Exploring the 7 Chakras.” Each week we will examine one of the seven Chakras individually from the Root on up to the Crown. Each Chakra controls different aspects of our physical and emotional body. Learning the individual characteristics of the Chakras will help us gain insight into areas within ourselves that need our attention and healing.

The Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is also known as Muladhara. Mula meaning "root" and adhara meaning "support" in Sanskrit. It is our base or root and is where it all begins. The Root Chakra connects us to the Earth and is considered the source of our life energy. Without a strong foundation your house would tumble or crack during a storm. Without deep roots, a tree or a plant cannot thrive and grow. Our Kundalini or Serpent Power resides in our Root Chakra until it is awaken. Imagine a coiled snake starting in your Root and working its way through all seven Chakras until it extends through the Crown Chakra as we become spiritually enlightened. The serpent is merely a symbol of the God given human potential for growth and spiritual advancement we were all born with. It is our driving force that connects our masculine and feminine energy, the material world with the spiritual world and advances our knowledge and personal power to levels beyond what we ever dreamed possible. In order to awaken this creative force and allow the serpent to coil through the Chakras, we have to first activate it with strong roots.


Root Chakra Sanskrit Symbols by Soul Sisters Designs

The Root Chakra is symbolized by the four petal lotus with a square as seen in the images above. The image to the right also has the Sanskrit symbol for the Mantra of the Root Chakra: LAM


Qualities, Correspondences and Tools

Read through the Root Chakra Reference Guide below. Determine if your Root Chakra is harmonized by assessing the qualities the Root Chakra dictates and corresponds to If there are imbalances or blockages that need to be addressed utilize the tools we listed to help you harmonize and clear this chakra.

The Root Chakra Reference Guide

Root Chakra Qualities

Central Theme: Will to Live, Security, Trust, Self-Preservation

Sensory Function: Smell

Position on the Body: Between Anus and Sexual Organ

Bodily Function: Pelvis, Bones, Large Intestine, Nails, Teeth

Mental Level: Will to Live

Spiritual Level: Basic Trust

Developmental Stage: Childhood birth to 7

Strengths: Life Energy, Endurance, Rhythm, Connection to Nature

Weaknesses: Egotistic, Lack of Self-Control

Physical Disorders: Constipation, Back Pain, Bone Diseases

Mental Disorders: Basic Fear, Lack of Trust, Disoriented

Root Chakra Correspondence

Color: Red

Vowel: U

Sensory Function: Smell

Phase of the Moon: Full Moon

Planets: Mercury

Element: Earth

Ways to Cleanse/Align

Mantra: LAM

Musical Instrument: Drums

Affirmation: I trust the power of the earth and the feel of my own body

Essential Oil: Clove, Rosemary, Cypress, Cedar and Vanilla

Precious Stones: Ruby, Hematite, Garnet

Metal: Lead

Herb: Valerian, Lime Blossom, Elderberry

Spice: Ginger

Bach Flowers: Clematis, Sweet Chestnut, Rock Rose


The above lists are by no means inclusive of every aspect of the Root Chakra, but provide basic information allowing a great understanding of its function. As you may have noticed, there are many more crystals and stones that correspond with the Root Chakra. Below we have compiled a more comprehensive list of Root Chakra crystals. When you click on a name, you will be directed to that crystal's page on our website for further reading. You will begin to notice how the metaphysical properties of those individual crystals coincide with what we have just learned about the Root Chakra. In addition, at the bottom of many of the pages you will have the ability to shop different designs we offer of that particular crystal or stone. Wearing clothing, decorating with a particular Chakra color and even wearing the Chakra's associated healing crystal jewelry are all tools you can use to help harmonize your energy centers. As we progress through the Chakras and balance and align them to their intended purpose, we get one step further along on our journey of self-discovery.


Apache Tears



Brecciated Jasper


Dalmatian Stone

Dendritic Agate

Fire Agate




Leopardskin Jasper

Mahogany Obsidian

Mookaite Nuummite



Picture Jasper

Polychrome Jasper



Red Coral

Red Tigers Eye


Rutilated Quartz


Shiva Lingham

Smoky Quartz

Snakeskin Agate

Snowflake Obsidian

Spider Web Jasper


Turritella Agate

We hope you enjoyed reading Part One of our Seven Part Series: Exploring the 7 Chakras. Stay tuned for Part Two: The Sacral Chakra. If you have any questions on the Root Chakra or would like additional information, please do not hesitate to shoot us an email at We are happy to answer any questions you may have. Until next time!


Nicole & Sandy

Soul Sisters Designs


Govinda, K. (2004). A handbook of chakra healing: spiritual practice for health, harmony, and inner peace. Old Saybrook, CT: Konecky & Konecky.

Follow Us:

  • Facebook Reflection
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
bottom of page