top of page

Exploring the 7 Chakras Part Four: Heart

Exploring the 7 Chakras: Heart (Anahata) by Soul Sisters Designs

The Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra is also known as Anahata, the Sanskrit word for "whole" or "unbroken." It is located in the center of our chest and is symbolized by a twelve petal lotus with a six pointed star in the center. A six pointed star is made by combining an upward and downward facing triangle to symbolize harmony. The Heart Chakra is the center of our Chakra system, linking our lower three Chakras with our higher three Chakras. In nearly every culture the heart is a symbol of love. The love of the Heart Chakra is not the passionate, physical love that we may have for our partner or the kind of love that we share only with a small group of family and friends. It is a universal love. This love encompasses all of humanity, encouraging compassion and selflessness. It inspires a connection and tolerance for everyone and their culture, religion or ideals. It starts with a loving acceptance of ourselves, despite our flaws, weaknesses, mistakes and failures. This love binds the whole world together in peace, harmony and balance. For this reason, the Heart Chakra's color is green.

Heart Chakra Sanskrit Symbols by Soul Sisters Designs

The Heart Chakra is symbolized by the 12 petal lotus with a six pointed star in the center as seen in the images above. The six pointed star combines an upward and downward facing triangle to symbolize harmony. The image to the right also includes the Sanskrit symbol for the Mantra of the Heart Chakra: YAM.


Qualities, Correspondences and Tools

Read through the Heart Chakra Reference Guide below. By understanding the qualities of the Heart Chakra and the different aspects of ours personality it corresponds with, we can better determine the health of this Chakra. If imbalances or cleansing is necessary, look at the section that describes different tools to align and harmonize the Heart.

Heart Chakra Reference Guide

Heart Chakra Qualities

Central Theme: Love, Empathy, Humanity

Position on the Body: Center of the Chest at Heart Level

Bodily Function: Heart, Lungs, Blood, Arms, Hands

Mental Level: Empathy

Spiritual Level: Love

Developmental Stage: Maturity 22-28

Strengths: Love, Empathy, Humanity

Weaknesses: Narcissism, Bitterness, Arrogance

Physical Disorders: High or Low Blood Pressure, Coronary and Respiratory Disease Mental Disorders: Lack of feeling, Problems in Relationships, Poor Boundaries

Heart Chakra Correspondence

Color: Green

Vowel: A as in father

Sensory Function: Touch

Phase of the Moon: New Moon, Full Moon

Planet: Jupiter

Element: Air

Ways to Cleanse/Align

Mantra: YAM

Musical Instrument: Bowed Instruments

Affirmation: I send myself and others love and compassion

Essential Oil: Rose, Jasmine, Tarragon

Precious Stones: Emerald, Chrysoprase, Jade, Rose Quartz

Herb: Whitehorn, Thyme, Melissa

Spice: Saffron

Bach Flowers: Red Chestnut, Willow, Chicory


In addition to the above, there are many different healing crystals that work with our Heart Chakra. Feel free to click on each crystal listed below to learn more about it in our Metaphysical Directory. Any imbalances in this Chakra can be remedied by using the tools referenced above or by wearing the Heart Chakra colors and jewelry. Use whatever method speaks to you and encourages you to open your heart to love. Allow the energy of the Heart Chakra to radiate from the center of your being upon all of us!

This concludes Part Four of our Seven Part Series: Exploring the 7 Chakras. Next week we will learn more about the Chakra that dictates how we communicate with others in Part Five: The Throat Chakra. If you have any questions about the Heart Chakra or would like more information, feel free to post in the comment section or email


Nicole & Sandy

Soul Sisters Designs


Govinda, K. (2004). A handbook of chakra healing: spiritual practice for health, harmony, and inner peace. Old Saybrook, CT: Konecky & Konecky.

Follow Us:

  • Facebook Reflection
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
bottom of page