top of page

How to Select and Identify Healing Crystals Part 9: Crystal Grids and the Hexagonal Crystal Family

Crystal Grids and Hexagonal Crystals


Hexagonal Crystal Family

This week we are combining two crystal systems into one post, the Hexagonal and Trigonal Systems. There is some confusion as to whether or not there are 6 or 7 different Crystal Systems. The confusion arises when Crystal Family is used interchangeable with Crystal System. There are 6 Crystal Families. They include, Cubic, Tetragonal, Hexagonal, Orthorhombic, Monoclinic and Triclinic. However, when referring to Crystal Systems, the Hexagonal Family is subdivided into two groups, Trigonal and Hexagonal. While their internal lattice structures have many similarities, there are distinctions to be made.


Hexagonal Crystal System

The Hexagonal Crystal System has an internal lattice structure based on a six sided hexagon. View the image below for an example of a basic, one dimensional hexagon. Three out of the four axes are the same length and intersect one another at a 60° angle. Their fourth axes are a different length and intersect the other three at right or 90° angles. They have a six sided internal structure or lattice. Common shapes include 12 sided pyramids, double pyramids and four sided pyramids or prisms.


Trigonal Crystal System by Soul Sisters Designs


Trigonal Crystal System

The Trigonal Crystal System has the same axis and angles found in the Hexagonal System. The differences lies in the number sides each has. While we noted above that Hexagonal Crystals have six sides, Trigonal Crystals only have three. They are based on a triangular inner structure or lattice instead of a hexagon. They have internal lattice's of three sided prisms or pyramids as shown below.

Trigonal Crystal System example


Crystal Grids

Hexagonal and Trigonal Crystals are used the same way on Crystal Grids because of their similar lattice structure. They are the largest and most popular crystals used on grids and some of the most powerful. They are the pathfinders. They seek out what we desire and help us manifest and acquire which we don't currently possess. They work similar to an arrow or a compass, focusing our energy and providing direction and guidance towards the right path forward.

Hexagonal and Trigonal Crystals are perfect choices for crystal grids when we are looking for a new beginning, new opportunity or a fresh start. By aligning our thoughts with our intention we begin to take action. Taking action leads to the new opportunity or new beginning being manifested. These powerful crystals' internal lattice pattern aligns perfectly with the human mind showing us the path forward necessary to create the life we desire.

Use Hexagonal and Trigonal Crystals when you have a new goal you wish to achieve or are looking for a new opportunity or a new way forward. They can also be used to manifest something you do not currently possess, such as self-esteem, confidence, motivation or even a new love. Crystals in the Hexagonal and Trigonal Crystal System will be your go-to crystals when gridding. Their powerful energy will align and focus your intention into action.


Healing Crystals in the Hexagonal Crystal System include:

Aquamarine, Apatite, Beryl, Emerald, Morganite and Sugilite.

Hexagonal Crystal System by Soul Sisters Designs

Healing Crystals in the Trigonal Crystal System Include:

African Turquoise, Agate, Agatized Coral, Amethyst, Ametrine, Ammonite, Aqua Aura Quartz, Bloodstone, Blue Aventurine, Blue Calcite, Blue Lace Agate, Blue Tigers Eye (Hawks Eye), Botswana Agate, Brecciated Jasper, Carnelian, Celestial Quartz, Chalcedony, Chrysoprase, Citrine, Coquina Jasper, Crazy Lace Agate, Dendritic Agate, Desert Jasper, Dragon's Blood Jasper, Fire Agate, Green Aventurine, Green Calcite, Hematite, Hematoid Quartz, Honey Calcite, Jasper, Kambaba Jasper, Kiwi Jasper, Lava Stone, Leopardskin jasper, Lithium Quartz, Mangano Calcite, Mookaite, Moss Agate, Ocean Jasper, Onyx, Opal Aura Quartz, Orange Aventurine, Petrified Wood, Picture Jasper, Quartz, Rainforest Rhyolite, Red Tigers Eye (Dragons Eye), Rose Quartz, Rutilated Quartz, Septarian, Shiva Lingam, Smoky Quartz, Snakeskin Agate, Spider Web Jasper, Spirit Quartz, Tigers Eye, Titanium Quartz, Tourmalinated Quartz, Tourmaline, Turritella Agate and Yellow Aventurine.

Trigonal Crystal System by Soul Sisters Designs



This concludes Part 9 of our series! We only have one crystal system left to explore! If you have any questions feel free to email us at or post in the comment section below. We are happy to help in any way we can! We hope everyone has a beautiful holiday and happy new year!


Nicole and Sandra

Soul Sisters Designs


Work Cited (2017). The Seven Crystal Systems Information. [online] Available at: [Accessed 6 Nov. 2017].

Farndon, J. and Livingstone, A. (n.d.). The practical encyclopedia of rocks & minerals. (2017). Crystal Systems. [online] Available at: [Accessed 7 Nov. 2017].

Mason, Henry M. Crystal Grids: How to combine & focus crystal energies to enhance your life. Woodbury, MN, Llewellyn Publications, Ltd, 2016.

Follow Us:

  • Facebook Reflection
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
bottom of page