top of page

Exploring the 7 Chakras Part Two: Sacral

Exploring the 7 Chakras: Sacral (Svadhisthana) by Soul Sisters Designs

The Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra is also known as Svadhisthana, which translates to "sweetness" or "loveliness" in Sanskrit. It is located about a finger's width below the navel and above the sacrum. It is depicted as a 6 petal lotus with a crescent moon. The Sacral Chakra is the center of sexuality and sensuality. It dictates our creative energy as well as the level of joy we experience living. When we activate this Chakra we feel a passion for life and increased pleasure in all that we do. It has a feminine energy that represents new beginnings, including fertility. A healthy Sacral Chakra leads to high self-esteem and positive self-awareness. Imbalances in this Chakra can result in addictions, jealousy, envy, resentment, aggression, guilt and sexual ambivalence.

Sacral Chakra Sanskrit Symbols by Soul Sisters Designs

The Sacral Chakra is symbolized by the six petal lotus with a Crescent Moon as seen in the images above. The image to the right also includes the Sanskrit symbol for the Mantra of the Sacral Chakra: VAM


Qualities, Correspondences and Tools

Read through the Sacral Chakra Reference Guide below. Determine if your Sacral Chakra is harmonized by assessing the qualities it dictates and corresponds to If there are imbalances or blockages that need to be addressed utilize the tools we listed to help you harmonize and clear this chakra.

Sacral Chakra Reference Guide

Sacral Chakra Qualities

Central Theme: Sexuality, Sensuality, Fertility, Creativity

Position on the Body: Below the Navel

Bodily Function: Sexual Organs, Kidneys, Bladder, Blood Circulation

Mental Level: Awareness of one's Body

Spiritual Level: Creativity

Developmental Stage: Youth 8-14

Strengths: Vitality, Creativity, Joy

Weaknesses: Uncontrolled drive, Compulsiveness, Guilty Feelings

Physical Disorders: Impotence, Prostate Disease, Problems with Female Reproductive System, Kidney Disease

Mental Disorders: Addition, Lack of Sex Drive, Mental Weakness

Sacral Chakra Correspondence

Color: Orange

Vowel: O

Sensory Function: Taste

Phase of the Moon: Waxing Moon

Planets: Venus

Element: Water

Ways to Cleanse/Align

Mantra: VAM

Musical Instrument: Percussion

Affirmation: I take pleasure in life with all of my senses

Essential Oil: Bitter Orange, Pepper, Myrrh, Sandalwood

Precious Stones: Gold Topaz, Aventurine, Coral, Fire Opal

Metal: Iron

Herb: Yarrow, Parsley, Nettle

Spice: Vanilla, Pepper

Bach Flowers: Oak, Olive, Pine


The above lists are by no means inclusive of every aspect of the Sacral Chakra. Below we have linked different healing crystals and stones that also correspond with the Sacral Chakra. Each one listed below is a clickable link that will take you to that crystal's page in our Metaphysical Directory. Using Sacral Chakra colors, crystals and wearing jewelry can help you harmonize this Chakra allowing your energy to move freely up the serpent and putting you another step further along on your journey of self-discovery!

We hope you enjoyed reading Part Two of our Seven Part Series: Exploring the 7 Chakras. Stay tuned for Part Three: The Solar Plexus Chakra. If you have any questions about the Sacral Chakra or would like additional information, please do not hesitate to send us an email at We are happy to answer any questions you may have. The book we reference below has an abundance of information on the Chakras and has been an invaluable resource. We highly recommend it!


Nicole & Sandy

Soul Sisters Designs


Govinda, K. (2004). A handbook of chakra healing: spiritual practice for health, harmony, and inner peace. Old Saybrook, CT: Konecky & Konecky.

Follow Us:

  • Facebook Reflection
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
bottom of page